- - - - -

I Don't Know Where To Begin

8 replies to this topic

#1 Eeveereest

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 January 2018 - 10:21 PM

I am extremely new to the occult. I have no idea where to begin, and I have no clue what each branch does. Would someone mind helping me by describing what each branch does, and the best one for a total beginner to start with?

#2 R. Eugene Laughlin

Board Member

• Moderators
  • 3,690 posts
  • LocationOregon

Posted 11 January 2018 - 11:10 PM

Hi Eeveereest,

That's a lot to ask of people you don't know. There are helpful people here, but please give us a little more to go on.

You're new. That's cool. Why don't you start by explaining your interests and related hopes in delving into the topic. Also, you must have done at least some background reading. What have you read?
Effectiveness is the Measure of Truth
http://neuromagick.com/
https://www.etsy.com...CraftsEngraving

#3 Eeveereest

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 January 2018 - 12:18 AM

I want to have extra daily energy, a personal space where only I can get to and think, knowledge, proficiency in a few magical fields, and maybe healing myself. The only reading I have done is a few Google searches and Wikipedia. I don't have much time to do what I want to do right now.

#4 Shinichi

• Old Timers
  • 291 posts
  • LocationEarth

Posted 12 January 2018 - 02:09 AM

The Sorcerer's Secrets by Jason Miller is a good general introduction to practical magic, from basic breathing exercises and meditation to strategies in divination and spell casting. Initiation Into Hermetics is also a good training manual, but Bardon is more focused on your personal development and spiritual aspirations than how to apply those skills through sorcery and spellcraft.