32 replies to this topic

#21 SuccubusSherry

Enthusiastic Member

• Old Timers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,088 posts
  • LocationEngland

Posted 26 June 2013 - 06:42 PM

I mentioned Jung in connection with individuation, the way he believed that you integrate the shadow when you attain individuation. In fact when I studied Jung it was part of studying dreams and I only read some of his work like 'Memories, Dreams and Reflections' and part of his writings on alchemy. I expect he said much more about the shadow in his books about mental illness, because he believed it was all bound up in the cause and the cure of the illnesses. It sounds like you are taking responsibility for your own mental health and trying to ensure you never have any issues with it in the future.

#22 Benubi

• Old Timers
  • 251 posts

Posted 26 June 2013 - 11:48 PM

Hypnic jerk. Heh. Reading about that it seems so similar I'm sure there must be a connection.

RoseRed / SuccubusSherry I would be interested in what your approach to Shadow Work has been and your general thoughts on it. If not here then in PM or not even that, if its too personal. The reason I ask is that I'm sure there are various ways to successfully confront and, if all goes well, integrate the shadow.

Many years ago I went through something which might as well be the equivalent to Shadow Work. It wasn't the process as its often described, i.e. finding someone you have a deep irrational dislike of and using them as a kind of mirror for your personal shadow. Instead I was isolated, meditated a lot and examined my life until it was inescapable that hidden behind my popular image I was an elitist, judgemental, brutal, narcissistic anti-life vampiric monster. Not too flattering, lol, but oh so liberating to take that in and change. To put it plainly, it made me capable of intimacy and love. I know that stuff works.

#23 Qaexl

• Board of Directors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,374 posts
  • LocationAZ, US